2010 Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards Finalists Announced

Toronto, April 27, 2010 – The 2010 short list for the Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards was revealed today. The winners of the 2010 Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards will be announced at Huttonville Public School, 2322 Embleton Road in Brampton, at 1 p.m. on May 27, 2010.

About the Books

This year’s shortlists represent some of Canada’s best known children’s books authors, and some newcomers. The books themselves focus on engaging themes, including memory, nature and identity.

Children’s Picture Book Award Category:

  • Perfect Snow written and illustrated by Barbara Reid
  • When Stella was Very, Very Small written and illustrated by Marie-Louise Gay
  • Proud as a Peacock, Brave as a Lion by Jane Barclay, illustrated by Renné Benoit
  • Scaredy Squirrel at Night written and illustrated by Mélanie Watt
  • The Imaginary Garden by Andrew Larsen, illustrated by Irene Luxbacher

Young Adult/Middle Reader Award Category 

  • Vanishing Girl: The Boy Sherlock Holmes, His Third Case by Shane Peacock
  • The Present Tense of Prinny Murphy by Jill MacLean
  • earthgirl by Jennifer Cowan
  • The Mealworm Diaries by Anna Kerz
  • The Awakening by Kelley Armstrong

About The Awards

  • The two awards, of $6,000 each, recognize artistic excellence in writing and illustration in Canadian children’s literature. They are awarded annually
  • The winners are selected by two juries of young readers. This year’s jurors are students at Huttonville Public School in Brampton, ON.
  • Five grade 3 and 4 students will choose the author and illustrator for the children’s picture book award.
  • Five students in grades 7 and 8 will select the recipient of the young adult/middle reader award.
  • The two juries run in April, and the winners will be announced at an event held at Huttonville Public School on May 26, 2010.

My Past Experience With This Award


John Degen, Literature Officer at the Ontario Arts Council states, “the Schwartz Awards encourage students to develop and refine their literacy skills with great Canadian books, and the jury process provides them a wonderful opportunity to debate ideas and have fun with their peers. I am always impressed with how seriously our young jurors take their responsibility to choose a winner.”

Janet Stubbs, the Ontario Arts Foundation’s Executive Director adds, “the Schwartz Awards give these young readers an appreciation of literature and an opportunity to engage in discussion about ideas and issues raised in the books.”

Learn More

  • The Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards were established in 1976 by Sylvia Schwartz in memory of her sister, Ruth Schwartz, a respected Toronto bookseller. In 2004, their family renamed the awards to honour both sisters.
  • The administration of these awards is shared by the Ontario Arts Foundation, the Ontario Arts Council, which manages the jury process and the Ruth Schwartz Foundation which funds the awards. Candidates are nominated by the Canadian Booksellers Association and members of the Awards Committee. The Awards Committee also selects the short list for the student juries.

Media Inquiries

Geneviève Vallerand, Communications Coordinator, Ontario Arts Council
416-969-7434 / 1-800-387-0058, ext. 7434 |

Ontario Arts Foundation Inquiries
Janet Stubbs, Executive Director
416-969-7413 |

The Ontario Arts Foundation (OAF) offers donors effective and creative opportunities for charitable giving – helping to build a foundation for the arts in Ontario. OAF works with donors to build lasting endowments in support of the arts – a gift for this generation and the next.

Leave a Reply




You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>