Forest of Reading Winners Announced

The Ontario Library Association and Authors at Harbourfront Centre announced the winners of the 2010 Forest of Reading Awards this week, as chosen by Ontario school children. The winners in each category are as follows:

Blue Spruce Award (Kindergarten–Grade 2): Jeremy Tankard, Boo Hoo Bird (Scholastic Canada)

Silver Birch Express Award (Grades 3–4): Cyndi Sand-Eveland, Dear Toni (Tundra Books)

Silver Birch Fiction Award (Grades 4–6): Robert Paul Weston, Zorgamazoo (Razorbill)

Silver Birch Non-fiction Award (Grades 4–6): Larry Verstraete, At the Edge: Daring Acts in Desperate Times (Scholastic Canada)

Red Maple Reading Group at Stuart Scott PS, Newmarket

Red Maple Fiction Award (Grades 7–8): Susin Nielsen, Word Nerd (Tundra Books)

White Pine Award (Grades 9–12): Pam Bustin, Mostly Happy (Thistledown Press)

Look here for author bios, book synopses and additional finalist names.

The OLA offers seven Forest of Reading® programmes that encourage people of all ages in their love of reading. All Ontarians are invited to participate annually via their local public or school library. More than 250,000 readers across Ontario participate each year. The culmination of the programme is an amazing two-day awards event at Harbourfront Centre called the Festival of Trees™, which features five of the seven awards.

Leave a Reply




You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>